Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Athletic Scholarships Awarded

Athletic Scholarships Awarded

Loyalist College honours varsity athletes for academic and sport excellence at annual Athletic Scholarship Luncheon.

Loyalist College honoured some of its best and brightest varsity athletes on Thursday, when it handed out its annual Athletic Scholarship Awards.

"This is always a special day for us" said Athletic Director, Jim Buck "it's very exciting to be able to recognize and celebrate the academic and athletic achievements of our student athletes."

Five of the thirty-four athletes honoured hold an average of 90% or better and 19 recipients made the Dean's list in their first semester.

Five members of the Lady Lancers bronze medal rugby team were among the award winners. They included OCAA Championship Tournament All-Star Bailey Meraw (Belleville, ON), Emily Reed (Stirling, ON), OCAA League & Tournament All-Star Kierstyn Bennett (Wellington, ON), Maryann White (Belleville, ON), and OCAA League All-Star Rachelle Malette (Belleville, ON).

From the women's volleyball team, CCAA & OCAA league leader, Sara Piana Yafu (Ottawa, ON) was among the award winners honoured at the lunch. Teammates Hannah Dossett (Kingston, ON), (currently third in the OCAA in aces per set) Christine Madogo (Ottawa, ON & second in OCAA in blocks/set & total blocks), Lorraine Spellman (Halifax, NS & first in OCAA in assists) and local talent Emilie Leneveu (Trenton, ON) also represented the women's volleyball team.

There were four scholarship winners on the men's volleyball team: Joe Bresee, of Elgin, ON; Josh Roberts, of Shubenacadie NS; Gabe Van Allen, of Edinburg; and Matt Bridgeland, of Harrowsmith.

Second year athlete & team captain Josh Roberts uses the scholarship as motivation. "Receiving a scholarship is an honour on so many levels. Not only do I have the privilege to play the sport I love, the extra financial assistance helps beyond measure. As a student athlete for Loyalist College, I am extremely grateful for the opportunity and support, and I am motivated to keep making steps to help myself, my team and the college continue to grow and excel."

Men's Rugby players Tyson Rigby, of Trenton; Thomas Paul of Haliburton, ON; Ryan McDougall of Belleville, Dustin Lunn of Kingston, Blake Maracle of Trenton and OCAA League All-Star Brennan Spencer of Napanee also received scholarships.

In women's soccer, scholarship recipients are: Victoria Woodcock of Belleville; Nadine Adair of Trenton; Leah Den Hartough, of Kitchener, Lauren Matthews, of Wellington and dual sport athlete Jodie Mitchell, of Whitby.

Fitness & Health Promotion student Brooke Macalpine recieved a scholarship for her hard work and dedication to the cross country team. Macalpine placed in the top 20 at the OCAA Cross Country Provincial Championships in October.

Four players on the women's basketball team earned scholarships: Kurstyn Brant, of Belleville; Jenni Thompson (2nd in OCAA in points per game & steals), of Belleville; Brittany Mason, of Ottawa, ON.; and Katie Wiggins, of Belleville.

Their counterparts on the men's basketball team – Angelo Sarsonas, of Toronto, ON; Christopher Asomani, of North York, ON; Raymond Yeung, of Richmond Hill, ON, were awarded scholarships. Their teammate Aiden Wells, of Belleville, ON, received the Scott Reid Memorial Award. The annual award is given to a men's basketball player who demonstrates a positive attitude, leadership, and eagerness to learn. Reid played on the Lancers' basketball team from 1991 to 1994. He passed away in 2001 of brain cancer.

"It's a great honour to win this award" says Wells, "One thing I pride myself on is my work ethic so I'm extremely grateful to get recognized with such an amazing award."